top of page
  • allisonsmakerspace

Let's head back in time

Updated: Jul 15, 2022

Have I mentioned that I'm a creative person and have been crafting & creating in some way for a loooong time? No, you haven't heard? Well, let me begin by digging through my archives of photos and see what happens...


I've loved to bake for as long as I can remember. Usually, this would result in me baking lots of goodies, eating a few, and then giving the rest to friends and family because dessert is not actually my favorite meal. Fun fact: For the most part I like to end my meals salty or savory. If I have a dessert, I end up eating something salty or savory afterward much to my fiancé's confusion.


Digging through my cell phone photos, I found this gem from October 2016. My then-boyfriend and now fiancé celebrates his birthday in October and loves Halloween (I mean, who doesn't?). So for his birthday one year, I made him a Halloween-themed cake.



Baking gives you so much creative freedom with flavors, textures, and decoration. It's always fun to make something look realistic (and maybe even disgusting) that's both edible and delicious!


For the cake itself, I used your run of the mill boxed cake (red velvet) and also made a smaller ovalish-shaped cake as the base for the brain. I added red dye to the frosting and melted it a bit to get the dripping blood look down the side of the cake.


For the brain itself, I shaped it using a knife and then frosted over the brain base. I rolled beige fondant (first time using fondant!) into little logs and turned the logs this way and that to make the lobes of the brain.


To make it look like an actual brain, I smeared warmed jelly in between the lobes and dripped a bit on the top of the cake for dramatic effect.


Overall, I think the cake came together quite nicely and looked pretty good. Years later, I'm still patting myself on the back for this one.


One thing to note, although fondant is really cool to use in baking and allows you to mold things in fun ways, it does not taste very well. We took a couple of bites of the brain before deciding we'd rather spend our time enjoying the cake. Good thing we had the large cake sitting underneath.



Made: 10/2016





5 views
bottom of page