top of page
  • allisonsmakerspace

2 YEARS!

Updated: Jul 15, 2022

That's how long it took me to realize I made a very silly mistake...


Two years ago I made a skirt in a class I took at a local fabric shop. This was probably the second garment I made...ever. I was still finishing a few things on the skirt at the end of the class, so I took it home and tried it on for the first time. "Oh no," I realized. It didn't fit, the skirt was waaay too big around my waist. How could I have made this mistake? And now that the class is over, I couldn't ask the instructor for help. I missed my chance at having a professional help me with this blunder. So into the back of the closet, it went...to be fixed another day when I had more skills, time, and patience.



Fast forward two years, I'm poking around in my closet looking at my makes that need to be altered and decide to pull out this skirt, reminiscing on the early days of my garment sewing journey. "I could probably fix this pretty easily now", I thought. It's a basic skirt and I've learned a lot of sewing skills since then.



So I try it on and again, it doesn't fit at my waist. I think about this for a second, then pull up the pattern on my Trello board. As I'm going over the pattern specs, I'm making sure I did indeed make the correct size, I notice that the finished measurements listed do not include the waist measurement. Then I look at the pictures on the pattern packet and, sure enough, I see that the skirt is meant to sit on your hips, NOT your waist.




WOW, do I feel dumb. This skirt sat in my closet for TWO YEARS because I thought it was supposed to sit on your waist when it was meant to sit on your hips. So, I dusted it off today and wore it out for the first time.



Check me out in my "new" skirt



The Details:

I made the New Look 6400 pattern, View D. It's a pretty simple and quick sew with two skirt pieces and a narrow waistband. There are two small darts at the back with a side zipper and hook and eye closure.


I can't quite remember the fabric type but picked it up at my local shop where I took the class.


Although my style has changed since I made this skirt, it's one I'll cherish and continue to wear as it was one of the first few pieces to open my eyes to the garment sewing world.


What's one piece you made a silly mistake with?





10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page